Jean Moulin and the "Conseil national de la Résistance"

In accordance with instructions from London, Jean Moulin succeeded in bringing about a separation between military and political action in each of the Resistance movements. This was the necessary preliminary to the creation of a "Secret Army", formed from the merging of the paramilitary formations of the southern movements,  "Combat", "Libération" and "Franc-Tireur", and the five resistance movements in the northern zone, "Organisation Civile et Militaire", "Libération Nord", "Ceux de la Résistance", "Ceux de la Libération" and the "Front National". General Delestraint agreed to take command of these forces and placed himself under the orders of General de Gaulle who had served under him before the war.

At the same time Jean Moulin set up, under his own direct control, two technical arms: the "Service des Opérations Aériennes et Maritimes "(SOAM) which was later to become the "Service des Atterrissages et Parachutages" (SAP)  and the "Service Radio" known as the  WT. He also set up two other bodies which would have a more political role:  the "Bureau d'Information et de Presse" (BIP), a full-scale clandestine press agency under Georges Bidault, and the "Comité Général d'Etude" (CGE), responsible for preparing the administrative and legislative measures that would be needed on liberation. Finally, Jean Moulin succeeded in bringing together into a single National Resistance Council, the "Conseil National de la Résistance" (CNR), representatives of the eight principal resistance movements, of the two trade union groups (CGT and CFTC) rebuilt in secrecy and of the six political parties or movements that had held parliamentary seats under the 3rd Republic (the Communist party, the Socialist party, the Radical party, the Popular Democratic party, the Democratic Alliance and the Republican Federation).